Our little church has a long and rich history in the Northern Neck. It was founded on August 3, 1839. 30 members from Pope’s Creek Baptist Church and 36 recently baptized folks joined together to form Rappahannock Baptist Church. Elder Marders was unanimously chosen as the churches first pastor. The congregation worshiped in the “Meeting-House” pictured below.
In 1870 plans were begun for the current building. A dedication was held the second Sunday of September in 1873. The bell in the tower and the chandelier in the sanctuary are believed to be original to the building.
There have been three other building projects that have been completed. The first added a north and a south wing. The second added the education wing that houses our Sunday School rooms. Most recently our church completed the third building project. We added a new social hall to our building. This allows us to serve our fellowship meals on the main floor of our building.
An annual Homecoming service was begun in 1928 and continues to this day. The first Sunday of August is set aside to remember our church's history. Feel free to join us and help us celebrate!
Through the years the congregation has grown and diminished, pastors have served and moved on; but the desire to serve our Savior has continued. We take to heart our motto, “Enter to Worship, Depart to Serve”.